Hanwha’s Moon Dong-joo, Rookie of the Year Award

LG Twins’ Oh Ji-hwan, 33, has added another trophy to his collection after a hot 2023.

Oh won the top honor, the Grand Prize, at the 2023 Joa Pharmaceutical Baseball Grand Prix (co-organized by Joa Pharmaceutical and Korea Daily Sports) on Thursday at the Elena Hotel in Gangnam-gu, Seoul.

The prize is worth 10 million won.

Oh wore the captain’s armband and led LG to the title. It’s been 29 years since LG won the title since 1994.

In 2023, Oh played in 126 games, batting .268 with eight home runs and 62 RBIs. While his batting numbers don’t stand out, his irreplaceable defense helped the team win the regular season title.

In the Korean Series, he was even better.

He had three home runs and eight RBIs during the series, including a game-winning three-run arch with runners on second and third in the ninth inning of Game 3. He also earned Most Valuable Player (MVP) honors in Games 2-5, becoming the first player in Korean Series history to hit a home run in three consecutive games.

LG President Cha Myung-seok, who accepted the award on behalf of Oh, who was unable to attend the ceremony, said, “I think Oh’s performance must have been imprinted on all fans, and I hope he will continue to show leadership and lay the foundation for LG to become a prestigious club.”

The top hitter award went to Noh Si-hwan (Hanwha Eagles), who stood out as the “next big thing. 먹튀검증토토사이트 Noh hit 31 home runs and 101 RBIs to win his first career home run and RBI title.

The top pitcher award went to homegrown ace Ko Young-pyo (KT Wiz).

Ko had 21 quality starts (QS), the most of any Korean pitcher, with six or more innings and three or fewer earned runs.

The Most Valuable Reliever award went to Seo Jin-yong (SSG Landers) for his 42 saves. Seo was so reliable that he did not record a single blown save until he became the first KBO pitcher to record 30 saves.

LG head coach Yeom Kyung-yeop took home the manager’s award. Yeom took over the reins of LG last winter and was recognized for his leadership in guiding the team to the top of the standings in his first season. The coach’s award went to NC Dinos coach Kim Soo-kyung. The once-in-a-lifetime rookie award went to Moon Dong-ju (Hanwha). With an 8-8 record and a 3.72 ERA this season, Moon led the Korean National Baseball Team to a gold medal at the 2022 Hangzhou Asian Games.

“This is an opportunity that doesn’t come around again, so I’m grateful to receive the Rookie of the Year award,” said Moon. “This year I won the Rookie of the Year award, but next year I will work hard to win the individual title.”

Park Young-hyun (KT) and Yoon Dong-hee (Lotte Giants), who played alongside Moon at the Asian Games, were named to the Developmental Award.

Son As-seop (NC) was selected for the Resurgence Award.

Son led the league in batting average (.339) and most hits (187).

The defensive award went to Yang Ji-soo, who anchored the Doosan Bears’ infield.

Kim Ha-seong (San Diego Padres) and Bae Ji-hwan (Pittsburgh Pirates) were honored with special awards for raising the profile of Korean baseball in Major League Baseball (MLB). Kim became the first Korean big leaguer to win an MLB Gold Glove (utility).

The Zoaviton-A Award went to Yoon Young-chul (KIA Tigers), the Hepatos Award to Kim Hye-sung (Kiwoom), and the Immunocan S Award to Won Tae-in (Samsung Lions).

The Sportsoto Photogenic Award went to Park Hae-min (LG). The Front Award went to the overall winner, LG.

The Achievement Award went to JTBC’s program “Choi Kang Baseball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *